top of page

Unlocking the Toolkit Girls Forum

The Girls Forum is a one-day event to expose girls in grades 5 and 6 to non-traditional trades and STEM (science/technology/engineering/math) careers through engagement in activities and group mentorship from trades and STEM women and female students in non-traditional trades and careers. Girls learn about the importance of developing ‘essential skills’ in their school years so that they will be able to use these skills throughout their future careers. At each activity station, the essential skills used in that trade or STEM career are highlighted.

A few words from our students:

I had so much fun at Unlocking The Toolkit! Two of my favorite stations were probably electrical and science. For a job one day, I would probably pick electrical because I think it’s really fun. My dad is an electrician so he could teach me some stuff. I liked science because it was really cool looking what’s inside the algae and stuff. Again, I had SO much fun! Thank you! Annika

It was so fun at Unlocking the Toolkit! The main idea of it was to introduce girls to all the trades because there is not much girls in the trades. This totally changed my mind about the trades because I found out they were really fun! My favorite stations were carpentry and science. The other ones were awesome too but, my least favorite was electrical because there were too much wires for me! In carpentry we made picture frames and in science we saw living things under a microscope. It was SO cool! I had so much fun and I would recommend Unlocking the Toolkit to any girl that is into this kind of thing. And a big thank you to Mr.Long for taking us! Izzy

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page